The beautiful city of Orsova can be found on the Danube shore and delights its tourists with a unique panorama. It is part of the Mehedinti district and ​​stretches along the Orsova Bay. It has a seafront near to the lake which is perfect for walks and jogging.

Orsova city is old and new in the same time. In 1970, after the opening of Portile de Fier I Lake the abode of the old town was flooded. Population was moved in a new place that includes Danube and Cerna terraces and the southern slope Almaj. The new city was built between 1966 and 1971 and incorporates the villages of Jupalnic, Tufari and Coramnic. In the Geto-Dacian times this city was known with the name Dierna. Archaeological discoveries – a dacian hoard of silver and Dacian pottery fragments are clear testimonials of Dacian population living in this place. This city was for the first time mentioned in Gesta Hungarorum with the name Urscia. From the 16th century the fortress and the city fall under Turkish rule.

In 1768 Orsova becomes Border garrison headquarters of Austrian Empire. This border garrison is destroyed by Tudor Vladimirescu by some circumstances between Romanians and Austrians. Started form the 1919 Orsova city becomes a component of Romanian Kingdom and was declared a city in 1923.

Close to the city of Orsova travelers can discover The Natural Reserve Cazanele Mari and Cazanele Mici. The Small Boilers (in Romanian: Cazanele Mici) can be seen normally staying on the ground but The Big Boilers can be visited only by a water trip. Here tourists can go with a cruise or a boat. Fascinating Danube offers unique memories here at The Big Boilers (in Romanian: Cazanele Mari). Visitors can see how Danube meets the mountains.

Danube proves a spectacular view to Clisurii Mountains and its massifs Ciucasul Mic (313 meters) and Ciucasul Mare (318 meters).

Orsova is a small and tranquil city with kind people. Don’t miss the road with the boat on Danube River, because Danube sceneries let unforgettable memories.

 

Piatra Neamt, the capital of Neamt County, is located in the northern part of the charming region of Moldavia. The picturesque city, surrounded by the Eastern Carpathians, lies on the banks of the Bistrita River.

The land of present Piatra Neamt is known to have been one of the first human settlements on Romania’s territory.  Throughout the Neamt county there have been found traces of the much discussed mysterious culture of Cucuteni, a civilization who has lived 5 thousand years ago. Even more, the first centuries before and after Christ found this area as a large Dacian town, known as Petrodava.

Piatra Neamt lived a period of intense development under Stephen the Great in the 15th century, when the Princely Court, Stephen’s Tower and St John Baptist Church were built. The princely court, today the historical center, around which the actual city of Piatra Neamt developed, nests the Petru Rares College, the Art Museum, the Ethnography Museum, the Princely Court Museum and the aforementioned Stephen’s  Steeple Tower and the Church of St John the Baptist, which together form the symbol of Piatra Neamt.

Museums in Piatra Neamt are plenty, from the Cucuteni Museum of Eneolithic Art, which exhibits painted ceramics, art objects depicting humans and animals, to the Ethnographic Museum, a beautiful collection of traditional costumes and artisan tools suggesting the peasants’ way of life on Bistrita Valley.

The religious monuments of Piatra Neamt exceed the traveler’s expectations by their inestimable artistic value, like the “Transfiguration of Jesus” Wooden Church in Valeni or the richly ornamented Byzantine style Bistrita Monastery fortresses by four meters stone walls which were rebuilt after Suleiman the Magnificent destroyed them.

Surprisingly, Piatra Neamt also hosts a wooden synagogue, namely the “Baal Sem Tov”, which attests a large Jewish community from the medieval times. The wooden synagogue attracts thousands of tourists every year, for it dates back from 1766 and it is considered the oldest synagogue in Romania, possibly even in southeastern Europe.

With the administration of Piatra Neamt’s goal to put the city on the map of touristic destinations of Romania, they even constructed a cable car to facilitate the winter sports practiced on Cozla Park, as well as it is also the ideal way to admire the city panorama and the nature surrounding it from a pretty high altitude.

The Cozla Park, besides being a ski run, also administers a zoo park where tourists can spot the native fauna like bears, wolves, foxes, deer and stags.

Strandul Tineretului is not to be forgotten in this array of landmarks, as it is a touristic complex which plays the role of the perfect destination for summer. Here you can relax at the pool, play tennis, football, sand volley and basketball, roller blade and skate, or go on a a paintball session. There are also numerous accommodations, terraces and clubs available here.

Aiud is a small but beautiful city from Alba-Iulia, Transylvania region. It makes the connection between Alba-Iulia and Cluj and its rare beauty makes it perfect for a trip.

In Antiquity, the city of Aiud was a Roman settlement with the name “Brucla”. The first attestation of this city was in the 13th century when population was mostly Saxon. Aiud city becomes the most important, cultural and learning center of Calvinism religion from this area.

Visitors can see the wonderful Aiud Fortress, the oldest urban citadel from Transylvania. This fortress was built in two stages and in the first stage, the 14th century; the Saxons constructed a fortified church just like other citadels did. Aiud Fortress was made on the place of a Roman settlement.

This fortress had nine towers that took the name of clubs that owned them.These are: Gate Tower, Butchers’ Tower, Tower Locksmiths, Tailors Tower, Tower Kalendas, Shoemakers Tower, Potters Tower, Tower furriers and Coopers Tower. Also, the fortress hosts Calvin Reformed Church made in Gothic style.

Students Monument can be discovered by visitors in the city’s park. This monument was built in the memory of students that died in fights against Habsburgs. Now has a local historic value in stone canopy form.  In the interior there is an altar stone with the college oval emblem. All students names can be found on this local monument.

In the old Princely Palace, travelers can find the History Museum of Aiud which holds collections about history and archeology’s place. This museum consist in four rooms where public can admire sculptural and epigraph monuments from the Daco-Roman age. Other things that can be seen here are the vestiges of Paleolithic and beginning of the t Iron Age and pieces of bronze storage. Museum delights the viewer’s eyes with temporary exhibitions about art and ethnography.

Museum of Natural Science from Aiud is the oldest museum on this category from Romania. It had four rooms on where tourist can find precious stones and gemstones, fossils of marine snails and fossilized Palmer leaf. Also, viewers can see dinosaur fossils, fauna animals, sized alligator, and baby in mother’s womb and animals with malformations.

Strong essences are held in small bottles and this thing fits perfectly with the city of Aiud. Surrounded with historical facts and rare monuments is perfect to be visited in one day.

Gura Humorului is a beautiful city, known as an important touristic center of Suceava district, Bucovina region. It is a significant wood center of exploitation and industrialization.

Its name comes from the Humor Creek which flows in Moldavia River. Gura Humorului is for the first time mention in a document in the 15th century in an act sent by Stephen the Great’s chancellery. Officially becomes a city in 1904.Travellers can start the trip with the Church Saint Emperor Constantine and Elena from the 19th century. This church is destroyed in the Second World War but is rebuilt with the help of the people. In this church exists an icon and people from Romania believe that can make miracles.

From here tourist can go and see the monument Olga Kobyleanska’s bust. This monument is dedicated to Ukrainian writer Olga Kobyleanska. The bust monument was made in Ukraine and contains information about life and writer’s work.

For those who want to find more about old traditions and culture of this city, Folk Customs Museum in Bucovina has all the answers. Inside of the museum, visitors can experience a journey in spiritual universe of the village from the 19th century.

Here people can found information about old calendar holidays, holidays explicit practices and an interesting gallery of Georges Cotos. “Georges Cotos” gallery contains 200 painting that use bursts of colors.

Humor Monastery is situated just six kilometers away of Gura Humorului. This beautiful and unique painted monastery is part of the UNESCO heritage and its predominant color is red. Just like other pained monasteries, Humor Monastery uses the fresco technique for the inside and outside paintings.

Close to the Gura Humorului is located another important religious edifice – Voronet Monastery. Tourists are going to be delighted by the exterior frescoes, intense and luminous colors and the unique painting figures on azure. The legend of this place of worship says that Stephen the Great come at the Voronet to seek advice to the Archimandrite Daniel. He wins the battle against Turks and kept his promise – he build a new church dedicate to Saint George, patron of his victory.

Gura Humorului provides beautiful natural reservations such as Piatra Pinului Geological Reservation on which is preserves traces of life for the old ocean that existed on the region, Piatra Soimului with its scenic cliff and Birch Forest from where tourists can see panorama  of the city.

Plan your trip to Bucovina this summer!

Borsa is a city from Maramures region where tourists can discover and enjoy Rodna Mountains. It is situated between two important protected places, National Park from Maramures Mountains and National Park from Rodnei Mountains.

The name of this city was for the first time mentioned in the 14th century and it was said that this place was part of   Bogdanestilor nation domains. An important incident from the 18th century was revealed when Borsa citizens won against the Tartars. Led by the archpriest Sandor Lupu, citizens stopped the Tartars and won the battle.

As part of  Borsa city are Baia Borsa – an important mine where was extracted copper, silver and lead , and Borsa Resort – a touristic attraction best known for its alpine landscapes and extreme sports.

Borsa is a real healing space for people who suffer for lung diseases, because of its clean air, forests and heights. Natural treatments are used for sick persons. Besides all these, Borsa has mineral waters, and volcanic outputs. If people suffer from urinary, digestive or kidney diseases they can recover by drinking mineral waters rich in iron, calcium, magnesium.

Rodnei Montains, Maramuresului Mountains and Tibau Mountains  protect this region just like a fortress.  Full of path perfect for skis, snowboards or even sleighs, this place give to all visitors a dose of epinephrine required to start the adventure.  Also, guests can find here the tallest natural springboards form entire Europe, with a high of 133 meters.

The city of Borsa offers interesting attractions such as the Wooden Church “Saints Archangels”. This church dates from 1700 and was painted by unknown artists. It has numerous printings that prove the connections with Moldavia and the Land of Romania.

National Park Rodnei Mountains is the biggest protected area from Carpathians and hosts a large number of categories of flora, fauna and glacial relicts.

Reservation Bad Rock will impress its visitors by the highest waterfall named Horses Cascade. Also here, tourists can delight with a numerous species of “lion’s foot” (flower) and other rare plants and animals.

Cornul Nedeii Ciunfii Balasinei is an unheard reservation under the management of National Parc Maramuresului Mountans. This reservation was made to protect birch roosters.

This blessed place by divinity is perfect for a vacation for all travelers. Mountains, clean air and all experiences can transform a normal day into a spectacle and a relaxation day.  If visitors enjoy winter sports such as skiing and snowboarding, this is a great place for fun.

The city of Suceava is one of the most wonderful and oldest cities from the historical region of Moldavia. A vacation in this place will delight traveler’s eyes with many tourist spots such as fortresses, churches, museums, memorials and many more. Suceava city is situated in Suceava Plateau (Romanian: Podisul Sucevei), on the river with the same name, at 21 km from the confluence with Siret River.

History

The first information about Suceava was found in 1388 when Petru Musat II (1375-1391), the ruler of Moldavia moved the capital from Siret to Suceava. This city was capital of Moldavia for about two centuries, since 1565. The most known voivodes of Moldavia were Alexandru the Good (ruler of Moldavia between1400-1432), Stephen the Great (ruler of Moldavia between1457-1504) and Petru Rares(two times rules of Moldavia, 1527-1538 and 1541-1546); Petru Rares was an illegitimate child of Stephan the Great. From 1774 to 1918, Suceava was the city of the Austrian Empire, Part of the Kingdom of Galicia and Lodomeria and the Duchy of Bukovina. During this period, it has served as the Austro-Hungarian border town with The Kingdom of Romania. In the 20th century, the city expanded by incorporating the surrounding localities Burdujeni and Itcani (in Romanian “Ițcani”); today this localities are neighborhoods of this beautiful city.

During the Communist period it takes place a comprehensive process of industrialization of Suceava, whose population increased more than ten times.

The Fortress Chair of Suceava (in Romanian “Cetatea de Scaun a Sucevei”) – a fortifications system built in Moldavia, in the final of the 14th century, because of the Ottoman danger, includes for resistance purpose, fortification of ground and wood, arranged around some settlements. Some fortifications points were positioned in the center of the localities or main roads connections of these. Fortifications of the courts of princes and monasteries and the citadels of strategic importance were located either at the border, on the Nistru’ River line, either inside the nearby Carpathians. Between these strongholds of Suceava Fortress,  known as one of the most popular ones, enjoyed great fame over time. Identified with military glory and the ideal of independence of the entire nation, this fortress had a history rich in events and fights. Frequently was seen as a main element of resistance of the entire Moldavia against those who wanted to obey it. Today, the Complex Architecture Fortress, Princely Residence of Moldova presents to all tourists Suceava’s medieval life.

Royal Court of Suceava – this beautiful place was built between 16th and 17th century in the center of Suceava. Burned in a fire, the Royal Court was built by Stephen the Great (ruler of Moldavia, 1457-1504) and rebuilt during Vasile Lupu time (ruler of Moldavia, 1634-1653). From 2004, the Ensemble “Royal Court” Suceava was included in the list of historical monuments of Suceava and it consists of 4 sights: Royal Palace – dates from the middle 14th  century; Tower housing – dates from 14th  century; Gate Tower – dates from 14th century; Annex – dates from 1486. The archaeological research from these places revealed numerous terracotta tiles, some unglazed and other glazed. The tiles have different interesting ornamentation like the coat of arms of Moldova, armored knights or vegetal and animals motifs.

Historical Museum of Suceava – hosts valuable collection of exhibits,  showing the history of Suceava and especially Bucovina.  Here it is opened an art gallery with works signed by artists from the country and from Bucovina. An important attraction of this museum is the “Throne room” of Stephen the Great who was voivode (or prince) of Moldavia from 1457 to 1504.

Ethnography Museum “Royal Inn” Suceava – this monument from 17th century presents the main ethnographic areas of Suceava. The permanent exhibition on the ground floor reconstructs vintage atmosphere of a century inn, from 18th century accommodation place for important guests, officials, and merchants who were passing through Suceava. It’s composed of: guest lounge, kitchen, inn room, rest room, pantry, and cellar – all constituting a special point of attraction. At the highest level, are displayed important pieces of ethnography and folk art, representative for this part of the country.

Stephen the Great Medieval Festivaldates from June 31, 2006 and aims popularizing and reintegrating into the tourist circuit Bucovinean the medieval monuments of Suceava, namely Fortress Chair, the Royal Court and Church Mirauti. The main activities in this project – Stephen the Great Medieval Festival have the purpose to bring back the community’s memory about the glorious past of Moldova and especially its capital, Suceava.

People traveling with their family and/ or friends are more than welcome to discover the several tourist attractions of the outstanding city of Suceava. We ensure everyone that after this trip they will fill more peaceful and happy to find more fascinating things about this beautiful region of Romania.

Iasi is an urban center from the southeastern part of Romania. It was the Moldavia’s capital between 1564-1859, being one of the two capitals of United Principalities among 1859 and 1862. During First World War, the city of Iasi becomes the capital of the Kingdom of Romania (1916-1918).

This beautiful city is full of culture and imposing buildings.  Iasi can be visited in any season for its multitude of tourist attractions, such as museums, monuments and commercial places. The famous city is the birthplace or former for personalities like Mihai Eminescu, Ion Luca, Michael Sadoveanu or Mihail Kogalniceanu.

History

During the early middle Ages, the documents certify that the name of “Iasi” comes from Alanic nation of iasilor. But, protochronist historians come with another theory of the name, saying that the name comes from a much older Sarmatian tribe: Iazyges from Antiquity, mentioned by Ovid. Another historian showed that iasians (iasii) formed a nation who lived with Cumanians, iasians left Caucasus after the Mongol invasion witch ended with the Battle from Kalka. In Sanskrit and Hindi languages, which have a common origin with Sarmatian language, the world “yash” (iasi) means “fame”. A today lost inscription from a Roman military milestone founded near Osijek (Croatia) in 18th century mentions the existence of Jassiorum municipium. The Hungaryan name of the city Jászvásár means “Jassins Market (Fair)”; the Romanian old name “Iesilor Fair” (and the alternative from Jassy), could have the same meaning.

The archaeological research revealed Roman amphorae in the Ciurchi Street in Copou area of ​​vineyards and a few km from Iasi. Also were discovered Roman imperial coins near to Citadel Hill (Dealul Cetățuia). To the Wolf Valley (Valea Lupului), next to Antibiotics Factory, were discovered Sarmatian tombs, Dacian vessel and ornaments. During the Feudalism transition, on the Iasi territory was identified 19 unfortified settlements, humpies and huts, from the 14th century. Between 7th -10th century were found rectangular houses with horseshoe-shaped ovens and numerous tools, clothing and jewelry placed in Dridu culture. Cultural Ensemple Dridu is a group of about 2,000 archaeological sites (settlements, cemeteries, pottery) from Romania and neighboring countries. The city of Iasi was first mentioned in a commercial privilege issued by Moldavian ruler Alexander the Great in 1408. Alexander the Great was a Moldavian ruler between 1400-1432 and during his reign this city was mentioned as one of the royal courts. It is believed that this city is much older, at least a few decades before that date, proven by the walls of the Royal Court (Curtea Domneasca). Iasi discovers a period of prosperity during the reign of Alexandru Lapusneanu in 1564. Alexandru Lapusneanu was a Moldavian ruler between 1552-1561 and 1564-1568 and he movedthe capital of Moldavia in the city of Iasi. In this time the capital attracts many merchants and craftsmen, most of them from abroad.

The Palace of Culture – located downtown of the city, this palace combines several architectural styles, such as Gothic, Romantic and Baroque. The Palace was established as a true effigy since its appearance in the landscape of the city. It was built between 1906-1925 by architect  I. D. Berindei and is impressing by its outstanding dimensions. The central tower of the building which reaches 55 meters high made this place to be considered, in that times , the tallest building from the city. Nowadays, the Palace of Culture is the headquarters of Moldova National Museum Complex which includes the Museum of History of Moldova, Ethnographic Museum of Moldova, Art Museum, Museum of Science and Technology Stefan Procopius and the Center for Conservation – Restoration of Cultural Heritage in the north-east is the Library of county Gheorghe Asachi.

Ion Creanga’s Hut (Romanian: “Bojdecuta lui Ion Creanga”) – is situated in the Ticau District, Iasi County and is a peasant, modest edifice, build before 1850. The Romanian famous writer lived here between 1872-1889. Mihai Eminescu, the most famous Romanian poet and Creanga’s best friend lived in this old house in 1879, for a few months. Ion Creanga’s Hut became in 1918 the first museum and memorial house from Romania in 1918. In this place tourists can discover the rustic house of Creanga, the place where all his stories were created.

Copou Park – is the oldest park from Iasi, arranged between 1830-1834. Here visitors can see Eminescu’s linden, being his place of inspiration. Later, this place became the symbol of the city.Close to the Eminescu’s linders travelers can find Junimea Alley where are placed Romanian busts of great authors. In 1984 is opened Mihai Eminescu Museum which is a tribute to him. The museum includes the most important works, translations of his poems in different languages ​​and several volumes of poetry: Poems (1884), Poems (poems in English, 1938), Augsewahlte Gedichte (poems in German, 1932), Poesies (poems in French, 1931). In this park it can be admired the Lions Obelisk originally called “Monument of the Constitutional Laws” which was built after the plans of Ghoerghe Asachi, in honor of the Russian general Pavel Kiselev and reforms introduced by him in Moldova.

The Metropolitan Church of Moldova and Bucovina – is positioned downtown and is one of the symbols of Iasi; the cathedral hosts the relics of Saint Paraschiva, protector of Moldavia. Every year on October 14, people celebrate Saint Paraskeva and Christians enjoy this special event following the traditions sent from one generation to another. It was founded between 1381 and 1386 and recognized by the Patriarchate of Constantinople in 1401 when it was headed by Bishop Joseph Musat. The Metropolitan Church of Moldova and Bucovina (MMB) is an administrative unit of the Romanian Orthodox Church and is led by Theophanes Savu, bearing the title of archbishop of Iasi and metropolitan of Moldavia and Bucovina.

Golia Tower – has a height of 30 meters and is one of the symbols of the city. From this tower tourists can admire beautiful panorama of the city. People have to climb 120 steps to the top, but definitely it worth the effort. This name came from Golia family.

Braunstein Palace – today is situated in Kilometer 0 from Iasi and it was built by entrepreneur Adolf Braunstein. This man was a very rich Jew who owned several shops along the street Cuza Voda. Adolf Braunstein lived between 1842 -1922, and an urban legend says that he wanted this building willingness to be the owner of a building larger than Cuza Palace today the Union.

Museum Lapusneanu Street – was an important edifice during time, and served as hotel. The construction of the palace began somewhere around 1900; the dome was inaugurated in 1915. It was built in the architectural style with elements of art- eclair nouveax specific to Romania from that period.

Sturdza Castle from Miclauseni – is a Gothic style castle built between 1880 – 1904 by George Sturza and his wife Maria in the village Miclauseni which is located 20 km and 65 km from the Roman city of Iasi. George Sturdza (1841-1909) received this mention like an inheritance from his father Alecu Sturdza (1803-1848)   The city of Iasi deserves to be visited for its food, touristic attractions, for its day life and nightlife.            

The city of Oradea is settled on the River of Crisul Repede, amongst the West Plains and the Apuseni Mountains. Its the capital city of Bihor County, and is one of the significant centers of economic, social and cultural expansion in the Nort-West area of Romania, retaining these features through history. It was first recognized in 1113, under the Latin name “Varadinum”, and was managed at different times by the Principality of Transylvania, the Ottoman Empire, and the Habsburg Monarchy.

The city is located around 10 kilometers from Bors, the Romanian border with Hungary and is considered the most essential crossing point on the west border. Its one the few undiscovered jewelries of Romania’s tourism. The city combines a great site and environment with dreamy baroque architecture from the Austro-Hungarian Empire, with a charming association of Romanian and Hungarian cultures. The city was handed back countless times among Hungary and Romania, and these two cultures are obvious in the city, giving it a distinctive appeal and lovely combination of architecture.

In the year of 1836 a large part of the city of Oradea was devastated by fire. The charming town of present-day Oradea was recreated in the 18th century to the strategies of Viennese engineer, Franz Anton Hillebrandt, which followed the then-trendy Austrian architectural elegance, called Secession. In addition to the many Baroque edifices, Oradea is outstanding for its predominantly rich collection of Art Nouveau architecture.

One of the main attractions is the Roman Catholic Cathedral which was built among 1752 and 1780, and is Romania’s largest Baroque religious structure. The Black Eagle Palace, situated in the Union Square, was made among 1907 and 1909 by Hungarian architects and is a glass-roofed Art Nouveau shopping arcade which runs through the two main edifices of the palace. Inside travelers will find  a four-star hotel, several shops, and cafes.

The late Baroque Church of the Moon was finalized in 1790. The clock mechanism, fixed in 1793, features a half-gold, half-black sphere, is preserved in continuous motion, replicating the stages of the moon and giving the church its name.

In the city of Oradea travelers will be able to discover seven architectural styles, such as Baroque, Classical, Eclectic, Historicist, Secession, Romantic and neo-Romanian, which can be admired while visiting Oradea’s most popular walkway zone: the Union Square.

Several travelers also make a stopover in Oradea previously travelling further on from/ to Cluj-Napoca, Sibiu, Sighisoara, Brasov or Bucharest. Oradea’s closest international airports are Cluj-Napoca’s Avram Iancu Airport and Budapest’s Liszt Ferenc Airport, which attends flights from all corners of Europe. Also, Baile Felix Spa Resorts are positioned only 10 kilometers away. This resort is home to numerous thermal springs and medical centers.

The city of Fagaras is a tourist area with natural dowry, cultural and historic and unique values ​​of rural communities. This place can provide unforgettable vacations for any kind of tourist.

The city of Fagaras is a picturesque mountain town in Transylvania. Out of Fagaras to Brasov is the geographical center of Romania. The settlement was certificate in 1291 under the name Fogoros. In Hungaryan etymology the word ”Forgos” means “place with many partridges”..From a geographically point of view, the city of Fagaras is situated in the Land of Fagaras, one of the oldest and one of the most important  ethno-cultural places from Romania.

Fagaras Citadel

This citadel was built in 1310, as a point of defense against attacks Tatars and Turks. In 1599 Mihai Viteazu occupied Fagaras Citadel. After that he gave it to his wife, Lady Stanca, together with the related field. Over time, this citadel was a barracks military prison, bishop’s residence and jail opponents of the communist system. In 1965 the stronghold is restored and preserved at today’s stage. 

St. Nicholas Church

It is an Orthodox church built by St. Constantin Brancoveanu. St. Nicholas Church is the oldest place of worship in Fagaras. This church is built in Brancoveanu’s Renaissance style. It has the shape of a ship, and it’s interesting to discover it.

Museum Land of Fagaras

This museum was founded since 1923 based on heritage Collectibles by Professor Valer. The museum carries on an ongoing historical and ethnographically research area, enrichment, conservation and scientific patrimony. It has a mixed profile: history, ethnography and art. In the museum’s collection it can be found: archaeology, weapons, coins, tiles, old books, documents, lapidary, glass factory, decorative arts and arts, folk pottery, costumes and other more tourists can see only if they will visit this museum.

Fagaras Monuntanins

They are among the highest mountains in the country, Moldoveanu Peak having 2,544 meters. These peaks are separated by deep valleys and they are traversed by Transfagarasan. This is a two-lane road that stretches over a distance of 90 kilometers and climbs to 2042 meters altitude. Mountains are covered with unique sights, waterfalls and glacial lakes, landscapes and endless panoramas. In this place travelers will fell closer to the sky. 

Blue Lagoon Basin

This Leisure Complex is open to all categories of entertainment and relaxation amateurs. It consists in four heated swimming pool and together forms a heart. The pool is equipped with massage chairs inside the aquatic bar. There was appointed slides and trampolines for all visitors. Besides pool tourist can find campsite for picnic. Land of Fagaras has everything a tourist wants to find: architecture, museums, nature, water. This city can satisfy almost every taste, making it a perfect place to explore.

The people of Romania are proud of their historical legacy.

The city of Rupea has a wonderful citadel that steals glances. The fortress and some traditions of this place are still preserved. Rupea City was a Dacian place named Rumidava. During Roman occupation its name was Rupes which means rock or stone in Latin language. On the hill of this city visitors can see the imposing Rupea’s Citadel, with an historical allure. In the area, locals are still exploiting remained salt water from specially arranged wells.

Rupea’s Citadel

This beautiful vestige is built on Hill of Cohalmului and dominates the whole city. Rupea’s Citadel is one of the oldest historical sites from Romania. Under the hill on which stands was found traces of Paleolithic and Neolithic epochs. It was built as a fortress and a refuge for the surrounding villages. The first document dates from 1324 when the Saxons revolted against King Charles Robert of Hungary, which took refuge inside the citadel, Castrum Kuholm. Kuholom means “basalt” and the name came from the rock on which it was built. The Citadel is built in a spiral stone shape. The fortress is composed of successive enclosures, strengthened with towers polygons. Three distinct enclosures are called upper fortress, middle fortress and lower fortress. Upper Fortress covers about 1500 square meters, and its walls are combined with rocks hill. Behind the walls visitors can find Larder Tower witch is a legacy of the Saxons passage here, Powder Tower – through the narrow alleyway which allowed access to the site and still inexhaustible fountain. In the Middle Fortress people can find Bars Tower, a chapel and a pentagonal tower. About this pentagonal tower, is considered to be unique in Europe. Lower Fortress is the legacy of the 18th century and here are distinguished guard house and a body intended as military warehouse.

Evanghelic – Luteran Church

Rupea City owns a Gothic church made as a room, which dates 14th -16th centuries. A very interested thing is that this beautiful church has murals in limestone representing people in motion. The altar’s church dates from 1079. The organ instrument found inside of the church dates from 1726.On the southern wall, above the gallery, travelers can admire traces of the fresco before the Reformation.

Ethnographic Museum “Gheorghe Cernea”

Visiting this museum tourist can see illustrations of traditional occupations of the local residents and their habits such as: pottery, feast crown, fishing, and wedding, traditional Romanian interior, Saxon interior grocery store. Inside is a special section dedicated to Gheorghe Cernea, a famous Romanian folklorist and ethnographer. The Rupea Fortress takes tourists to another epoch and is worth to visit it at least once in your life time. The beauty of the area helps travelers forget about technology and their busy life.