Ramet Monastery (Romania: Râmeț Monastery) is a must see objective during a trip in Transylvania, representing an old edifice located in village Valea Manastirii, Ramet parish, Alba County. Ramet Monastery went through hard times, because of battles, fire and water. This church actually stayed under mud and stones for four years, among the 1926 – 1930, because of Plesa River.

Fortunately, it survived to all obstacles and today enjoys the reputation name of “Heaven Garden from Apuseni”. The place deserves this name, because of its paradise settlement surrounded by nature panorama and the inner peace that can be found here. It is considered a part of the oldest Orthodox monasteries from Transylvania region and its first attestation was in the 14th century.

The name of “Ramet” came from “hermit” so it is considered that is was made by hermit monks. In the 16th century this monastery was taken under the wing of Radu Voda, ruler of Land of Romania (1601-1623). He received the estate from Stremt, in Ramet land from king Vladislav. Ramet Monastery received attention and care by families of boyars close to this place. Visitors can see that Ramet Monastery is situated in a wonderful valley in Trascau Mountains. The natural frame creates an impressive image in the viewer’s eyes.

This monastery includes The Old Church, a small and white beautiful sigh. It has paintings overlaid from the 14th century and is dedicated to the “Healing Spring” and the “Assumption of the Virgin Mary”.  Travelers can also find here the interesting Monastery Museum which was made using an old school building. Dometrie priest opened this museum’s doors for public to present: the Calvary Holy stone brought from Jerusalem, the Virgin Mary bush stone from Mount Sinai, the Foundation bricks from Apulum Camp, religious vestments and many more. Further people can find the New Church which is dedicated to “Assumption of the Virgin Mary” and to “Saints Peter and Paul”. It is the biggest building from this monastery created in a Byzantine style.

Ramet Monastery has an open porch, inside furniture is made by oak and the right of altar, excursionists can see the relics of Saint Hierarch Gelasius. Ramet Monastery‘s ambiance is great to be included in a tour travel because it will energizes all tourists and will ease all soul’s hardship. Beauties that can be seen here are unique and very special.

Discover authentic Transylvania with its charming monasteries, landscapes, castles, fortresses and cities. 

Bogdanesti Monastery is a place of good deeds that can be found in Bogdanesti village located in the county of Suceava. A trip in this beautiful place makes all tourists to feel that generous and good people still exist.

In the 14th century, Bodan I, voivode of Moldavia (1363-1367), and his wife, Miss Mary made this monastery and initially named it “Hermitage Bogdanestilor”.  Bogdanesti Monastery was constructed to be the prayers place and also the royal church.

Bogdanesti Monastery was first made from wood and survived without any problems until the 16th century. In 1510 the Tartars destroy this edifice and one year after, monks try to rebuild it with the help of Bogdan III the Blind (Moldavian ruler, 1504-1517). For a long period of time this settlement was a Monks Hermitage. This fact was declared in documents in the 16th century. Later, between the 17th and the 18th century this place was mentioned as a Nuns Hermitage. Bronze statue of voivode Bogdan I is the first thing that stand in from of the curious tourists that want to appreciate the Bogdanesti Monastery.  This statue was built as collateral power and value of this edifice.

The today’s monastery is made by stone to resist during times. The interior of the monastery hosts carved oak furniture and its pictures which are presenting the fresco technique. Near the church, there was a Bell Tower, sanctums, a 20 m fountain and a monument dedicated to Bogdan the Voivode. All these structures are surrounded by a stone wall.

“Iov hermitage” or “Iova glade” is the place of hermitage for monks around this monastery. Hermit Iov lived here to honor God. With the help of Divinity he could do miracles and foretelling bad things for people. He gathered around him 15 monks and created this hermitage. The priest Gheorghe Loghinoaia rebuilt this wonderful monastery in 1994. Since then Bogdanesti Monastery is devoted to “St. Elijah Tesviteanul” and secondly to the “Birth of Virgin Mary”.  In 1995, around the church was established the philanthropic Christian settlement “Protection of the Mother of God”, in order to provide shelter and food to several elderly people without financial and maintenance possibilities.

Between 2006 and 2010 was made a new building for philanthropic Christian settlement “Protection of the Mother of God” that offers better living conditions for poor people from this area of Romania. Humanitarian deeds and the beauty of the landscape is making Bogdanesti Monastery perfect destination for a holyday or a tip.

Putna Monastery situated in the city of Suceava, in Bucovina region, is known as the “Jerusalem of Romanian Nation”.  Is one of the most important edifices built by Stephen the Great, ruler of Moldavia region.

Poet Mihai Eminescu stayed here several nights and he was fascinated about this monastery and he named it “Jerusalem of Romanian Nation”. Nowadays, Putna Monastery has a tower that takes the poet’s name and is called Eminescu’s Tower.

In Moldavian chronicles was mentioned that Putna Monastery was initiated in 1466 and finished in 1469. Ruler (Romanian: Voievod) Stephen the Great built Putna Monastery to celebrate the victory of Chilia and to create his family a place to rest in peace. Here visitors can find buries of Stephen the Great, his last wife Maria Voichita, his second wife Maria de Mangop, his son Bogdan the Blind and other family members.

The chronicler Ion Neculce said that Stephen de Great drew a bow and where the arrow felled he constructed the beautiful Putna Monastery. Putna Monastery suffered during time several fires, landslides and others transformation which kept the history of this memorial place. In the 15th century a big fire destroyed the monastery’s hermitages and part of this building. Also, battles with other nations damage its walls. Anyway, this monastery resists stoically in front of all happenings, good or bad.

Tourists that visit Putna Monastery will be happy to find that Treasure Tower is the only one that was preserved since its beginnings. In old days, in this monastery were hidden valuable things, to be protected by thieves or enemies.Is well known that under this monastery is buried a big part of Stephen the Great’s family.

Known as one of the most important spiritual, cultural and religious unit of Romania Putna Monastery charms all tourists with its grandeur fortress and wonderful panorama.

Discover Romania and enjoy a few hours in peace, connecting with the true essence of you.

Curtea de Arges is a town located in Arges district from Muntenia region. This city is surrounded by mystery and history, being the first capital of Wallachia. It is one of the oldest cities from Romania and offers a distinctive panorama and interesting touristic attractions.

During Medieval Times, Curtea de Arges was an important political and economic center. Because the capital was moved from Wallachia to Targoviste, Curte de Arges lost its prestige. The place regain its notoriety after the monastery becomes Carol I burial place. Nowadays, this monastery is the place were all Romanian kings and queens are buried, including Queen Ana, the wife of former king of Romania, Michael I.

Curtea de Arges is proud to be the place where important rulers are born: Neagoe Basarab (ruler of Wallachia between 1512 and 1521), Vlaicu Voda (ruler of Wallachia between 1364 and 1377), Mircea the Elder (ruler of Wallachia between 1386-1394 and 1397-1418). Also here were born intellectual personalities from interwar period such as: writer Demetru Demetrescu-Buzău (known as Urmuz) and psychologist Florian Stefanescu-Goanga.

Tourists that visit this historical city need to see the beautiful edifice Curtea de Arges Monastery. This place of worship is built between 1512 and 1517 by Neagoe Basarab. Curtea de Arges Monastery is a cultural edifice, a legendary residence and also a place for pilgrimage. Visitor can discover here the graves of Romanian Regal Family: King Carol I, Queen Elisabeth, Carol II, King Ferdinand I and Queen Mary. Travellers that come here can discover the legend of dabster Manole (Romanian: Mesterul Manole), the man that bricked his wife Ana in the edifice wall. Wonderful Curtea de Arges Monastery is dedicated to “The Assumption of Virgin Mary” and is recognized as a national monument.

Close to the Curtea de Arges Monastery tourists can see the Fountain of Manole. The legend of this fountain said that dab Manole need to brick his wife Ana in the church’s wall for stop the walls demolitions. The rule of that times loves this terrific construction and ask those 10 tampers if they can do another one, more wonderful that this one. Those 10 tampers say yes and the rules demolish the scaffolding to stop them to build another construction more beautiful than this. Tampers made shingles wings but all of them die. In the place where dab Manole decease, appears a fountain that keeps his name.

In the center of this city, visitors can discover remains from 13th century Royal Court. From the old construction they can see stone walls and two royal cellars. Archaeologists confirm that this building is made in peasant style with ground floor, basement and a veranda. On this Royal Court used to be a house which was the home of Voivode Neagoe Basarab. The second house is the home of Basarab I. Royal Court was rebuilt on the 14th century.

The city of Curtea de Arges is perfect for a small trip to enter in the historical and legendary atmosphere of the streets and discover Romania.

The Horezu Monastery or Hurezi Monastery was founded in 1690 by Prince of Wallachia – Constantin Brancoveanu in the town of Horezu, Valcea County, Romania. It is considered to be a masterpiece of “Brancovenesc style”, known for its architectural purity and balance, the richness of its sculpted detail, its treatment of religious compositions, its votive portraits, and its painted decorative works. The church was repaired and restored in 1827, 1872, 1907-1912 and 1954-1964.

The Monastery is called a complex of the holy places, because of its four places of worship what was built in different times:

  1. The actual church of the monastery, founded by the great ruler and scholar, Constantin Brancoveanu at the center precinct dedicated to Saints Constantine and his mother Helena.
  2. Infirmary church, founded in 1696 by Lady Maria the wife of the prince of Wallachia.
  3. Hermitage “Apostles”, founded by Archimandrite John abbot of the monastery in 1698.
  4. Hermitage of St. Stephen, named after the ruler’s eldest son, founded by himself in 1703.

The Monastery is totally differently than other churches by its hallway that was constructed by order of Constantine’s mother. The beauty of this porch consists through the arches supported by ten stone columns adorned with ornaments in Renaissance style. The facades are decorated with rectangular panels and ornamental with niches hoops. The entrance door is very massive and was built of marble carved. The door delights everybody by its paintings: Romanian and Cantacuzino family coat of arms.

The Church is special thanks to murals pictures, executed between 1692 and 1694 by Greek craftsmen: Constantinos and Ioan. Also guests can admire a gallery of portraits with Brancoveanu’s family, Cantacuzino and Basarab’s family. By the way the first abbot of the monastery, Archimandrite John, is buried in the main church.

Moreover the Monastery has its personal library named “Constantin Brancoveanu Library” founded by Constantin Brancoveanu. Library includes a lot of books and this is one of the reasons why Hurezi becomes a powerful cultural center of the Romanian Land.

The library catalog compiled in 1791 shows that at that time the Church had 382 volumes of printed books and 46 manuscripts and the interesting fact is that 115 of them were typed in Romanian language.

Horezu Monastery is one of the best cultural destinations in Romania. Horezu is a must for travelers looking for a slow-paced experience that put together architectural masterpieces, centuries old traditions and scenic natural environs.

Discover Romania and enjoy the serenity of Horezu Monastery.

 

Humor Monastery is an edifice situated in Bucovina region, Humor Monastery village. Built by Toader Bubuiog and his wife, Anastasia, is tranquility of souls and attraction for all tourists.

The region of Bucovina is blessed to have the most interesting pictured monasteries from entire Romania. Humor Monastery is part of this region and is well known for its frescos.

In 1993, UNESCO included the church Humor Monastery, on the World Heritage list together with other seven churches located in northern Moldavia (Arbore, Patrauti, Moldova, Probota,”St. John” Suceava, Sucevita and Voronet), known worldwide as the painted monasteries of Bucovina.

Humor Monastery is an orthodox one and is dedicated to “Assumption of the Virgin Mary” and “Saint George”. With a height of 300 meters, it is close to ruins of another old church built in the 15th century by Alexander the Good. In this region appeared for the first time the open porch and the vault.

Humor Monastery was founded in 1530 and closed later by Habsburgs. This edifice opened again its gates in 1991. Since its opening, this gorgeous monastery was an important cultural center of Moldavia. As a confirmation, it has a Bible dating from 1474 which can be seen in the Museum of Putna Monastery.

The Humor Monastery’s big treasure is the exterior paintings, were predominates the red color. This painting were made by Master Toma Painter in 1535. Walking along the monastery tourists can discover one of the most valuable frescoes on the southern side – the Akathystos Hymn. The Fall of Constantinople is a well-preserved picture that it can be see here. In each side of the monastery people can find religious themes such as: Tree of Jesse, Eternal Judgment, the procession of angels, prophets, apostles, bishops, martyrs, pious and others that wait to be unraveled. Since 2015 Humor Monastery is proud to be part of the Historical Monuments from Suceava with its four sights:

  • Church “Assumption of the Virgin Mary ” and “St. George” that was built in the 16th century;
  • The remains of the monastery houses from the 14th-18th century;
  • Belfry Tower made in the 19th century;
  • Tower of Vasile Lupu constructed in the 17th century.

In any part they look, tourists can see the nature that surrounds this magnificent place and feel the religion in any corner. The fairy landscape makes visitors leave their worries at home and enjoy what eyes can see. Here divinity has done its job. Humor Monastery is perfect for those who what to find himself and love religious tourism as much as cultural trips.

 

The Snagov Monastery, the resting place of Vlad the Impaler, also known as Vlad Dracula, is one of the most important historical places in Romania, built on the Snagov island located in the north part of Snagov Lake. The building was founded by Mircea cel Batran, Vlad Dracula’s grandfather, in 1408 and rebuilt by his nephew and Mircea Ciobanu. The monastery is known by its byzantine style with Romanian traditional decorative elements that delights every eye.

One of the most remarkable rooms inside of the monastery is the prison for traitors and thieves, built by the one and only Vlad the Impaler, the underwater tunnel for retreat during the wars and the great bell which is made of massive brick.

Also, citizens say that the place where the monastery is built, is haunted by thousand souls of soldiers who died during wars led by Constantin Brancoveanu, Prince of Wallachia between 1688 and 1714, Matei Basarab, Prince of Wallachia a between 1632 and 1654, and Vlad the Impaler, Prince of Wallachia three times between 1448 and his death in 1477. The paintings were restored just once, in 1815 by Gheorghe Zugravu, and all travelers have the opportunity to appreciate the beauty of the original medieval Romanian culture.

At Snagov Monastery, tourists can recreate from all daily routine and taste the smell of first books printed in Romanian language, cheers to Constantin Brancoveanu. The monastery has activated as typography between 1700 and 1714 and the first book printed here is „Orânduiala slujbei Sfinților Constantin și Elena”.

The Snagov Monastery tour is ended with an interesting legend about  the tomb of the most powerful reigning of Vlad Tepes,  which was killed in a battle with the Turks, in 1476,  and his body was  buried here. If tourists want to visit the historical buildings and to feel the age of wars on Romanian territory, this tour is dedicated to them. In addition to superb views, you can discover the real vampire hunters through the time lived by Vlad Dracula and present.

Besides this, you can make a detour to visit the marvelous Snagov Lake (Snagov Lac) that opens more nature views. The town is very popular because of its calmness. Likewise in Snagov Town you can admire rare species of fauna and flora in natural reservation that is located in Ilfov, near Snagov Village.

If you asked yourself how to get to Snagov Monastery from Bucharest you should know that near Snagov Monastery you will find the beautiful capital of Romania, Bucharest that is well-known by its second name “Little Paris”, according to its elegant architecture and the sophistication of its elite.

The Monastery of Voronet, part of the Painted Churches of Bucovina Tour, is a medieval monastery located near Gura Humorului, Suceava County. Voronet was built in 1488, under Stephen the Great’s rule. The constructions were finished in exactly 3 month and 3 weeks and it represents a tribute to the victory of the Battle of Vaslui.

Voronet is listed as an UNESCO World Heritage site, along with other painted churches in Moldavia. It is often called the “Sistine Chapel of the East”. What makes this monastery stand out from others is its exterior frescoes, painted in an unique shade of blue, today called “Voronet blue”.

Besides the huge personality of the founder, Stephen the Great, Voronet also bears the story of its first abbot, Saint Daniel the Hermit. Legend says that Stephen came to Saint Daniel to ask for advice regarding the war against the Ottomans. Saint Daniel encouraged him not to surrender. After winning the battle, Stephen built the monastery and dedicated it to Saint George.

Voronet is actually built on the foundation of a former wooden church. In 1546, it was extended by Grigore Rosca, a notable nobleman. Inside the monastery, there are the tombstones of Saint Daniel the Hermit, Grigore Rosca and other devotees of the church.

Priests and monks practiced a school of calligraphy here, and it even produced Romanian translations of the Bible.

In 1775 the monastery is deserted due to Habsburg occupation and the religious activities are resumed only in 1991. Ever since, the land of the monastery was enlarged with houses for nuns and pilgrims, a chapel, barns and fountains.

People say that Voronet and the other painted monasteries are “byzantine churches painted by gothic hands”.

The main church of Saint George at Voronet Monastery catches every tourist’s eye with the strong and well-preserved colors used on the outside frescoes. The windows and the doors are arched in a Gothic manner. Part of the untouched decorations of Voronet is still noticeable on the northern part: embossed motifs in bright colors representing the Moldavian coat of arms or creatures of medieval inspiration. The tower is adorned with sixteen niches and the same style of painting above them.

Whether it’s for the entire treasure of the Painted Monasteries of Bucovina or just for the Monastery alone, tourists should definitely visit because pictures cannot depict its true historical beauty and holy atmosphere.

Cozia Monastery is an eastern orthodox monastery located in Calimanesti, Valcea county, Romania.  As the best example of Byzantine architecture in Romania, it is one of the most valuable monuments of national importance in the country.

The monastery was founded by Mircea the Elder during 1386-1388 and is currently housing his tomb. Although most rulers of Wallachia were buried at Curtea de Arges Monastery, Mircea was the only one that did not comply and insisted on being buried at Cozia.

The name of Cozia derives both from Cuman and Turkish origin. It literally means ‘walnut grove’. Important rulers of Wallachia left their mark upon this site through restoration and added elements.

With the passing of time, the church of the monastery, named ‘The Holy Trinity’ has suffered appearance modifications under the leadership of Neagoe Basarab in 1517, Serban Cantacuzino and Constantin Brancoveanu 1707. Its original style was therefore updated to the ‘brancoveanu style’.

Of main importance are also the frescoes of Cozia. The church was painted during 1390-1391. On the western wall of the complex you can still find original paintings representing Mircea the Elder and his son Mihail. To this day, only a few original elements survived from the times of Mircea the Elder: two bells, the cross pattern of the monastery’s tower, and a small piece of the ruler’s tomb, which was profaned many times along history. The monastery’s grounds are enframed by thick stone walls, with a defense tower in each corner. There was actually another church that bore the name of Cozia, which was destroyed. The remaining of old “Cozia” are actually situated 1 km away from the existing monastery and it is thought that Radu, Mircea’s father, built it at the end of the 13th century.

The communist regime left its mark on the historical site. Nicolae and Elena Ceausescu had their portraits in the museum of the monastery for quite some time, alongside other representations of big historical figures of Romania. This museum also holds valuable religious and holy objects.

Tourists can find the religious assembly on the right bank of the Olt River, 20 kilometers away from Ramnicu-Valcea, the capital city of the county.

The Olt River in the back of the monastery and the breathtaking mountain backgrounds complete the tranquil scenery.

With history, religion and nature combined, the monastery of Cozia, along with the church within, is apparently the most visited religious site in Romania.

Arges Monastery – is an Orthodox Monastery located in Curtea de Arges. The complex includes the Episcopal Church, one of the most famous architectural monuments of the Romanian Country.

At the time of Carol I, the Monastery was turned into a necropolis for the Royal family of Romania.

In 1866 and 1867 two fires destroyed the seminary buildings and homes, the chapel and tower entrance.

The church was restored in 1875 by the French architect Lecomte du Nouy, whose controversial technical consist the complete demolition of buildings and rebuilding them from the ground.

During this restoration the original fresco was destroyed and replace with paintings “new, cold and foreign to the monument”.

In 1886 the restoration of the church was finished and began the construction of the administrative palace o the east side of the complex.

At the Curtea de Arges Monastery are the relics of the holy Filofteia.

Since 2009 began the construction of the cathedral where the Romanian kings graves and the relics will be moved and the church will be transformed into a museum.

The monastery was built by Neagoe Basarab between 1512 and 1517. The inside paintings made by Dobromir, and it was finished in 1526.

Among the oldest settlements mentioned in our history it is the Arges Monastery with its surroundings.

In 1514 the desire of Neagoe Basarab was to create beyond compare, so the beautiful work was completed three years later on 7 January 1517.

Listening not only the legend but the historical news also, it seems like apparently for lack of money, and with all his lady’s jewelry but more than that because of lack of time, the painting part of the monastery couldn’t be finished before Neagoe Basarab’s death.

So his son in law, Radu de la Afumati, agreed to finish the monastery on 10 September 1526.

Neagoe Basarab’s dream come true, the final construction was mentioned as one of the most beautiful monasteries from the area.

During the years the church was partially rehabilitated, after a strong fire the injured, it was rebuild as it can be seen today by the French architect André Lecomte du Nouy and the Romanian architect Nicolae Gabrielescu.

There is a legend about the construction of the monastery known by the most of the Romanians. The legend says that Manole has built his wife into the walls of the magnificent monasteries. He sacrificed his wife because everything they build during the day collapsed during the night, and they decided sacrifice will be needed to break this curse. So they decided jointly that the first wife that will arrive with food it will be scarified. Manole’s wife Ana , was the first arrived and she was bricked alive in the wall of the monastery.

Nearby the Monastery is the Manole’s fountain. In the same legend we can find the explanation how the fountain got there. It says that Neagoe Basarab saw this grate building asked Manole and his co-workers if they can build a monastery greater than this one, they answer affirmative so the prince to prevent the possible construction of another greater monastery ordered the demolition of the scaffolding so the grate masters were stock on the roof.

They made shingle wings hoping to get down unharmed, but unfortunately they all died. On the place where Manole collapsed appeared a fountain – The Manoles fountain.