Located in Hunedoara’s village of Densuş, Saint Nicholas Church is an orthodox church and one of the oldest in Romania having a Byzantine rite, as it was built in the 7th century and bettered in the 13th century; although there are several disputes among historians about the age of this place of worship. It is said that the Church of Densus was built on a former roman pagan temple worshipping the god Mars built in the 2th century; and even this temple is said to have been built over a Dacian temple dedicated to their only god, Zamolxes. The late Roman architectural style can be felt as the church was built with rocks brought from the ruins of not far away Ulpia Traiana Sarmizegetusa. The interior exhibits invaluable fragments of murals dating back from the 14th century.

Considered the oldest church in Romania and Southeastern Europe, the church has held services continuously for 700 years.

The church hosts a series of unique murals. Even the church’s pillars are painted. The western wall shows a 18th century representation of the Last Judgment, Saint Marina fighting the devil, Jesus Christ dressed in a traditional Romanian shirt and a rather disturbing depiction of Saint Thomas wearing his skin on a stick.

The wooden paintings on the iconostasis are also from the 18th century. In the Holy Altar, the famous painter Stefan Zugravul made one of his masterpieces. The table is actually a roman tombstone taken from a sarcophagus. Above the area where the priests is in service, there can barely be seen a few strands from Jesus Christ’s hair.

The Saint Nicholas Church at Densus has suffered a great deal of blasphemies. From 1556 to 1733, Calvinists were the ones in power in Transylvania, so around 1700 there were two priests in service alternatively at Densus, an orthodox and a Calvinist. When the Calvin priest was in service, he put all the sacred icons with their front facing the walls and when the orthodox Romanians came back, they always put them back in their place. All the sacred images were eventually vandalized and painted over by Calvinists. Even more, Turks also vandalized and set everything wooden on fire, but the rock made church survived.

The Church of Densus is part of Tara Hategului / Hateg Land; a place full of Dacian-Roman vestiges. The Hateg villages are known for keeping churches, manor houses and medieval fortresses.

Discover Transylvania with our tour travel in Hunedoara, in the southwestern part, near the Poiana Rusca Mountains, a region filled with old history and breathtaking landscapes. First documented in the year of 1265, the County will meet an important development and will play a great role in Romania’s history.

There are proofs of human settlements during the middle Ages, especially in the Iron Age, when the region was dominated by the Geto-Dacian civilization, and then of the Daco-Roman, after the Roman conquest. Very rich in iron, the area was well-known from ancient times because of its earth resources and riches. So, the Dacians built a fortress near Orastie Mountains, Sarmizegetusa, and the most important political and religious center in Dacia.

The discovery of Roman imperial coins and monetary treasures of Dacian population attest the great importance of this region and strong economical contact between two civilizations and not only. This fact is known with the help of a “villa rustica” on the Sanpetru hill where there was a Roman fort belonging to the Legion XIII Gemina. Also, other vestiges of that age are found in the villages Cincis, Pestisul Mare or Ghelari.

Moreover, in the 13th century the city of Hunedoara became a significant iron extracting and processing center in Transylvania. During the following centuries, the fortress of Hunedoara had an important military activity. It became the royal residence of the Hunyadi family and it was given by the king on Hungary, Sigismund of Luxembourg. After that, the development of the region was blooming.

Iancu de Hunedoara gives the Hunyadi Castle a new look, rebuilding the Knight’s Hall and the Diet Hall in Neogothic style. His son, the most famous Hungarian king, Matias Corvin continued the work and consolidated the construction and the domain of Hunedoara.

Hunyadi Castle represents one of the biggest and well preserved medieval buildings in Europe and serves as testimony of the greatness of Matias Corvin’s noble family. In this tour travel, it represents the main attraction as the most impressive monument of medieval art.

Discover Transylvania in a journey in the Orastie Mountains or the region of Hateg (where the old Roman Capital was founded). Poiana Rusca Mountains are a splendid view and they are inhabited by an ancient Romanian population named woodlanders.

After the 18th century, the city of Hunedoara comes across the development of an authentic Romanian spirituality. Numerous Orthodox churches and monasteries appeared giving the region religious importance such as the ones from Cerna, Prislop, Cincis, Zlasti, Plosca or Manerau.

Other main objectives in the county of Hunedoara are the Fortress of Deva (Cetatea Deva), medieval monument that will give the taste of history lessons. The Retezat National Park is one of the most important in Romania, where you can admire natural beauties of spectacular flora and fauna.

Nonetheless, because of the mountain relief there are plenty of caves and mountain resorts perfect for the lovers of winter sports or explorers. Tourists can benefit of good accommodation, hospitality and get to know impressive traditions of the area.

Discover Transylvania in a memorable tour travel in Hunedoara, a piece of Romania’s oldest and richest history where you will discover both the beauty of the landscape and legacies of the people living there.

Corvin Castle named also Hunedoara’s Castle or Hunyadi Castle, is the medieval fortress of Hunedoara, one of the most important gothic monument from Romania.

It is considered one of the most beautiful castles from the world, and it can be found between ” Top 10 European fairy tale destinations”.

Hunedoara’s castle is the largest medieval construction with double functionality ( civil and military) from our country which is still standing.

The castle was built in the XV century by Joan Hunyadi, it is an imposing building, equipped with towers, bastions and a dungeon. The roofs are high and covered with polychrome tiles. The Corvin castle interior was restored and converted into a museum.

The castle was one of the biggest and most famous properties of John Hunyadi. Construction has experienced significant transformations in its time, serving both as a reinforced strategic point and feudal residence . With the years, various owners of the castle change its appearance, enriching it with towers, halls and guest rooms.

The gallery and dungeon, the last defense tower, are unchanged from the time of Joan Hunyadi and with the Capistrano Tower are some of the most significant parts of the building.

In the Corvin castle’s courtyard, next to the chapel built also during John Hunyadi, is a 30-meter deep fountain. According to a legend, this fountain had been dug by three Turkish prisoners to who was promised freedom if they will reach the water layer. But after 15 years of toil, when they finished the fountain , the owners have not kept their word. It said that the inscription on the wall of the fountain means “You have water but you don’t have a heart.”